Myth Regarding Basketball: “The ref lost the game for us”
A common saying – especially after losing a game. Not only is this statement “not true” it is detrimental to the team. Coaches should evaluate their game plan and other decisions made during the game – then check the player’s stats (shooting %’s, free throws missed, turn-overs, etc). Now, was it really the ref who lost you the game? Is it really worth teaching your players to blame the referees for the loss? Think about it!
Something to think about…
When a player is on the court dribbling the ball and steps on the “out of bounds” line, they are “out of bounds.” When a player that is “out of bounds” getting ready to pass the ball in steps on (not over) the “out of bounds” line – Why does the referee blow the whistle and say that the player stepped on the line (which is a turn-over and the ball goes to the other team). If the line is out of bounds and the player throwing in the ball is out of bounds and steps on the line – are they really “out of bounds” if they are not stepping on the court?
The price of success is hard work, dedication to the job at hand, and the determination that whether we win or lose, we have applied the best of ourselves to the task at hand! “Vince Lombardi”
History Tid-Bits: One of the “Original” Rules of Basketball…
When the ball goes out of bounds, it shall be thrown into the field of play by the person touching it. He has a right to hold it unmolested for five seconds. In case of a dispute the umpire shall throw it straight into the field. The thrower-in is allowed five seconds; if he holds it longer it shall go to the opponent. If any side persists in delaying the game the umpire shall call a foul on that side.
Quote: “Hard Work” beats “Talent” when “Talent” doesn’t “Work Hard.”
Quote: “Greatness lies in the ability to overcome.”
A player cannot dribble the ball above their head, this is considered a dribbling violation?
This is incorrect: This is not a violation as long as the players hand stays on top of the ball.
Quote: “Winners Never Quit” and “Quitters Never Win”
Myth / Reaching in Foul:
There is not a foul called “reaching in” found in the basketball rulebook. The act of simply “reaching in” is allowed unless contact is made. The referee can call a pushing or holding foul, but there is no “reaching in” violation listed in the basketball rules book.
During practices, make your players dribble a basketball anytime they have to run (during suicides, laps, etc). Why not? It can only help the younger players with their ball handling skills! Keep a basketball in your players hands anytime it’s possible.
Myth: The referee cannot make a coach sit down, it’s not a ref’s option.
False: A referee can certainly make a coach sit down (especially after the coach has been tagged with a technical foul). Once the ref informs a coach to sit, and the coach happens to forget and stands back up, another technical foul can be called by the referee. Although Referee’s seldom call this, it is also a violation for more than one coach to be standing up at the same time.
Myth: Most youth basketball players want to be on a “winning” team and sit the bench rather than “lose” and play more! -
False: Over 70% of youth say they rather play more and be on a losing team than sit the bench on a winning team.